After a digital Smart Systems Integration Conference in 2021, the SSI community will hopefully meet again in presence in Grenoble in 2022. We kindly invite you to present your recent developments in the field of Smart Systems Integration and system solutions there. The conference will cover topics along the whole value chain starting from MEMS/ NEMS, photonics, microfluidics or printed technologies for sensor manufacturing up to complete smart systems with embedded intelligence and to different application scenarios.

Digitization is not only increasingly entering our lifes, it is a real game changer! There will be not only advances in individual components and subsystems necessary, especially connectivity and implementation of intelligence “at the edge” integrated in smart modules and systems will be the key. To be successful in future, interdisciplinary approaches are required more than ever.

The conference will therefore cover all aspects and technology readiness levels. Key enablers and key technologies will be addressed as well as new design concepts and embedded intelligence as well as specific application domains (mobility, energy, industry, agrifood, biomedical applications, and healthy living). Beyond research topics, EPoSS as co-organizer will organize sessions on strategy and business creation as well as on impact resulting from European funded projects in the domain.

In an engaging and compact format, the conference will provide a unique and valuable opportunity to interact with the stakeholders of the Smart Systems community along the value chain by means of technical sessions, strategy panels and exhibition booths.
Research and technology organisations, small and mid-sized enterprises and industry will share their latest approaches and the results.
On behalf of the whole committee – we are looking forward to receiving your abstracts.

Best Paper Award Winner 2021 selected

Since the establishment of the conference in 2007, it is a tradition to select and award the best poster as well as the best paper at the Smart Systems Integration Conference. Both awardees receive a donation of 500 euros that are sponsored by EPoSS – the European Platform on Smart Systems Integration and the Fraunhofer Institute for Electronic Nano Systems ENAS.

All attendees of the conference vote for the best poster of the conference. The selected winner is announced at the end of the conference during closing remarks. The committee also nominates the best paper candidates and the winner is selected out of 7 to 10 candidates based on the presentation as well as the written paper.

The best poster award winner at the SSI2021 is Claudia Bruno from STMicroelectronics with her poster titled “Embedded artificial intelligence approach for gas recognition in smart agriculture application using low cost MOX gas sensors”, as previously published in the after conference press release.

The best paper award winner of the 1st fully virtual edition of the Smart Systems Integration Conference & Exhibition from April 27 to 29, 2021 is Dr. Bruno Fain from CEA-LETI with his paper “Beamforming with AlN-based bimorph piezoelectric micromachined ultrasonic transducers“.In his paper, he presented a piezoelectric micromechanical ultrasonic transducer (pMUT) with multiple membranes used for airborne pulse-echo measurements with an angular resolution of 18 degrees.Both awards will be presented to the winners at the Smart Systems Integration Conference & Exhibition 2022, which will take place April 26 to 28, 2022 in Grenoble.

Press Release 2021

The 1st completely virtual edition of the Smart Systems Integration Conference & Exhibition, short SSI, took place from April 27 to 29, 2021. More than 120 participants from all over Germany, Europe and the world took part in the online event. Originally it was planned to hold the conference in Grenoble/France. Now the event took place on an individually provided online platform due to present circumstances. Highly interesting keynotes, a total of 53 speakers spread over five tracks and nine sessions as well as a poster session with a total of ten contributions and organized topic tables for discussions were among the highlights of the three-day event. In addition, the Thomas Gessner Award was presented for the second time during the event. Read more.

Conference Chairs

Prof. Thomas OttoFraunhofer ENAS
Prof. Thomas OttoFraunhofer ENAS
Stefan FinkbeinerBosch Sensortec GmbH/EPoSS Chairman
Stefan FinkbeinerBosch Sensortec GmbH/EPoSS Chairman
Sebastien DauvéCEA LETI
Sebastien DauvéCEA LETI

Core team

▪Alan O‘Riordan, Tyndal
▪Albrecht Donat, Siemens AG
▪Antonio Lionetto, STMicroelectronics
▪Christian Wagner, Fraunhofer ENAS
▪Christoph Koegler, T-Systems Multimedia Solutions
▪Elisabeth Steimetz, EPoSS
▪Harald Poetter, Fraunhofer IZM
▪Klas Brinkfeld, RISE
▪Luis Fonseca, Centro Nacional de Microelectronica (CNM-IMB-CSIC)
▪Jean-Philippe Polizzi, CEA LETI
▪Jochen Langheim, STMicroelectronics / EURIPIDES
▪Martina Vogel, Fraunhofer ENAS
▪Matthias Kuehnel, Robert Bosch GmbH
▪Paddy French, TU Delft
▪Rainer Günzler, Hahn-Schickard
▪Roland Doerr, microTEC Suedwest
▪Sven Rzepka, Fraunhofer ENAS
▪Sywert Brongersma, IMEC
▪Thomas Dietrich, IVAM
▪Thomas Hammer, Siemens AG
▪Thomas Otto, Fraunhofer ENAS
▪Wolfgang Dettmann, Infineon Technologies AG

Scientific Committee

▪ Prof. Adrian Dinescu, IMT
▪ Alfredo Tafuri, MESAP
▪ Dr. Antonio Imbruglia, ST Microelectronics
▪ Ben van der Zon, HigTech NL
▪ Prof. Carles Cané, CNM Cnm.Csic
▪ Prof. Christian Becker, TU Hamburg Haarburg
▪ Dr. Christian Hedayat, Fraunhofer ENAS
▪ Dr. Emmanuelle Pauliac-Vaujour, CEA Leti
▪ Dr. Francesco Gennaro, ST Microelectronics
▪ Prof. Gerd Griepentrog, TU Darmstadt
▪ Prof. Gerwin Gelinck, TNO
▪ Dr. Jesus Ruano-Lopez, Ikerlan
▪ Dr. Jyrki Kiihamaki, MST BW
▪ Prof. Kari Mäki, VTT
▪ Prof. Karla Hiller, TU Chemnitz
▪ Prof. Larraitz Anorga, Biolanhealth
▪ Dr. Marcello Coppola, ST Microelectronics
▪ Prof. Marco Liserre, Universität Kiel
▪ Prof. Martin März, Fraunhofer IISB
▪ Dr. Michael Scholles, Fraunhofer IPMS
▪ Prof. Ran Liu Fudan, University Shanghai
▪ Uwe Schwarz, XFAB
▪ Prof. Willem van Driel, TU Delft
▪ Prof. Yvonne Joseph, TU Bergakademie Freiberg